NCAA Divisional Differences

Division 1.

The Division 1 schools must offer at least 14 sports, 7 for men and 7 for woman or 6 for men and 8 for woman. There are a total of 335 members and a GPA of at least a 2.0 or higher. In division 1 there are 66% public institutions and 34% are private. Scholarships are available for division 1 programs to offer but can not exceed an established maximum amount of scholarship money to keep the competition as fair as they can.

Division 2.

Division II is an intermediate-level division of competition, which offers an alternative to both the highly competitive level of intercollegiate sports offered in Division I and the non-scholarship level offered in Division III. There are 302 members in division 2 and they must earn at least a 2.0 GPA to be eligible. Very few of the 100,000 student-athletes competing in Division II receive a full athletics grant that covers all of their expenses, but most of them will receive some Financial Aid from the athletic department to help them through school.

Division 3.

Division III student-athletes are more likely to report that they see themselves as part of the campus community. There are 442 total members which makes it the largest division and 81% of institutions are private. There are NO athletic scholarships or funding for division 3 sports and allow the primary focus to be on the education of that student participating.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s